Is Sugar Alcohol Halal or Haram?

Some people have misconceptions regarding sugar alcohol containing alcohol. This is chiefly because the name itself has the word ‘alcohol’ in it.  

The Muslim community has certain things that are permissible and halal to them and others that are non-permissible and haram. The holy text of the Quran states that while alcohol may contain both good and bad, the bad is greater.

Islam forbids alcohol since it is an intoxicant that means poison to them.

is Sugar Alcohol halal?

So the followers of Islam are to stay away from haram things like alcohol that might harm them in any form. This article mentions in detail sugar alcohol for all of those who might be unaware or confused regarding “Is Sugar Alcohol Halal or Haram?”

What Is Sugar Alcohol?

When people hear the word “sugar alcohol”, except those who are aware of what it is, others probably associate it with alcohol. Sugar alcohol is a modified carbohydrate and a low-calorie sweetener.

They are derived from natural sources like vegetables and fruits. The alcohol is actually their chemical structure. They do not contain ethanol, a type of alcohol found in alcoholic beverages.

Some common examples of sugar alcohol are as follows:

  • Ribitol
  • Maltitol
  • Arabitol
  • Xylitol
  • Erythritol
  • Glycol Lactitol
  • Isomalt
  • Glycerol or glycerine
  • Isomannitol
  • Mannitol
  • Sorbitol

Is Sugar Alcohol Halal?

Sugar alcohol is considered halal according to Islamic Shariah. While Islam prohibits the consumption of anything harmful to the mind and body such as alcohol or drugs, they also encourage people to use halal products that would do them no harm.

Not only are there no intoxicating effects or harmful impacts from sugar alcohol but it also has its benefits. Since the small intestines of humans do not completely absorb sugar alcohol, our bodies consume fewer calories. This makes them so popular among both diabetic patients and those aiming for weight loss.

It helps in the management of blood sugar levels for diabetic patients as they work as a perfect alternative to sugar itself. There are also fewer dental risks along with the consumption of fewer carbs. They require no insulin for digestion making them more popular among the general public.

For this reason, all Muslims and halal-conscious consumers can freely have sugar alcohol since it’s halal. This has been approved by countries having majority Muslim populations.

Is Sugar Alcohol Haram?

Sugar alcohols are not produced from ethanol or involve the alcoholic fermentation process like any other alcoholic beverage such as wine or beef that causes intoxication.

They are also not distilled like vodka or whiskey and are derived from vegetables and fruit. Even when they do not contain any ethanol, they fall into the chemical class of alcohol.

Some of the natural products they are derived from are strawberries, mushrooms, onions, starch, and plants such as mannitol from seaweed and sorbitol from corn syrup.

Hence the next time someone finds out they have sugar alcohol in their candy or gum, they need not worry about it being haram. They are low-calorie sweeteners which are even better than sugar.

Is Stevia A Sugar Alcohol?

Stevia is considered to be in the general category of novel sweetener. It is a brush plant found in Central and South America. Its leaves contain steviol glycosides that are extracted to make sweeteners.

They are unlike sugar alcohols or other sugar sweeteners, as they are derived from nature and contain no carbs or calories. This makes it difficult for stevia to belong to one specific category.


Muslim and halal-conscious customers no longer have to be in the dilemma of “Is Sugar Alcohol Halal?” and are free to enjoy products containing it. Not only are they halal but also have several benefits which make them a healthier alternative to sugar.

The purpose of this article is to provide all the necessary data regarding sugar alcohol and prove the fact that they are indeed halal and permissible for consumption by the followers of the religion of Islam.